The New York Times

November 12, 1981

8 Win Public Service Awards

BYLINE: Special to the New York Times

Eight men and women have been honored with $10,000 Rockefeller Public Service Awards for their contributions toward solving important problems facing the nation.

These are the 1981 award recipients: Marian Wright Edelman, president of the Children's Legal Defense Fund, Washington, for her leadership in advocating the rights of children. Dr. Robert A. Hatcher, director of the Emory University-Grady Memorial Hospital family planning program, Atlanta, for promoting the well-being of families through his direct involvement in sex education programs for youths. Herbert Scoville Jr., president of the Arms Control Association, Washington, for his work in promoting world peace by educating and informing the public on the need for a rational approach to arms reduction. Betty Jean Hall of the Coal Employment Project, Dumfries, Va., and Charles Prejean, executive director of the Federation of Southern Cooperatives, Atlanta, who share an award for broadening employment opportunities. Ruth Watson Lubic and Phyllis R. Farley of the Maternity Center Association, New York City, and Dr. Richard Smith, director of the Health Manpower Development Staff, University of Hawaii School of Medicine, who share an award for developing new methods of health care. The Rockefeller Public Service Awards, established in 1952 by John D. Rockefeller 3rd, are administered annually by Princeton University's Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs. This year's recipients were chosen by a committee of 17 leaders in business, education and government who considered the achievements of more than 135 nominees. The awards will be presented at a dinner and ceremony on Dec. 8 in Washington.

Copyright 1981 The New York Times Company